“He Waits For You” The story behind this original Christmas Song

A few days before Christmas last year, I wrote my first praise and worship Christmas song. It had been many months since I had last written a song, and I wanted this particular one to be special. I went strait to the source for inspiration, and within minutes of reading Luke 2, words were flowing from the pencil to the paper.

In this song, I wanted to convey two main thoughts. The first thought being, what would it have been like to witness the night of Christ’s birth from the perspective of the Shepherds. What would it have looked like to see a host of angles appear and fill the night sky with their presence? What would it have sounded like to hear them announce the news of Jesus’s birth, and hear them sing a song glorifying the Son of God!? I can only imagine how incredible the experience must have been for them! I probably would have rushed to the stable too, to see the tiny face of all our hope!

I also wanted to write about how, just like that night 2,000 years ago, Jesus still waits for us to come to him now. He waits for us to spend time in His presence and worship him. Just as the shepherds were invited to do all those years ago, there’s an invitation that still extends to us to spend time with our Savior! It’s kind of humbling and awesome to think that the Son of God delights in spending time with us, to remember that we are the very reason he was born. The fact that he came into this world to die for my sin, is so much reason to worship him!

So that is the little story behind the reason I wrote this song. If you’d like to give it a listen, please click on the YouTube link below. I hope you enjoy it, and that it encourages your heart this season!

Special thanks to my awesome hubz for learning this song on short notice and recording it with me after a long day of work! Also, to any pianist out there, please ignore my simple chords. I have poor piano skills!

From my home to yours, Merry Christmas!

Xoxo, Mel

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Margo Gallucci says:

    Loving your blog so far lovely lady! ā¤

    Like

    1. Awe you are the sweetest!!!! Thanks so much for stopping by!!! šŸ˜˜šŸ˜˜

      Like

Leave a Reply

